To encourage new researchers, ANZARME provides two Post Graduate Research prizes of $500 each; the Doreen Bridges Prize, and the David Sell Prize.

Both awards are for promising research presented at the conference to Post Graduate students undertaking investigations in the field of music education.

The prizes are awarded on the recommendations of a panel of adjudicators who attend the presentations and the awarding of the prizes is at the discretion of the adjudicators, pending the number and quality of eligible presentations.

The criteria for prizes are as follows: clear introduction to research issues/contentions, positioning of research within the appropriate field of literature, an appropriate and well-articulated methodology, clarity of data presentation, rigor and depth of discussion and conclusion, and significance and timeliness of research.

Previous winners are not eligible to apply. Students must be currently enrolled in their research studies, and student papers must be sole authored.

ANZARME Student Prize Winners

2021, Melbourne (online)
David Sell prize – Kirsten Macaulay
Doreen Bridges Prize – Melissa Salek

2020, Melbourne (online), Australia
David Sell Prize – Martin Emo
Doreen Bridges Prize – Lydia Wan

2019, Wellington, New Zealand
David Sell Prize – David Gilling
Doreen Bridges Prize – Andrew Walker

2018, Gold Coast, Queensland
David Sell Prize – Katrina Rivera
Doreen Bridges Prize – Lyndsay Sealey

2017, Perth, Western Australia
David Sell Prize – Jenni Hillman
Doreen Bridges Prize – Anne-Marie Eyles

2016, Auckland, New Zealand
David Sell Prize – Daniel Lee
Doreen Bridges Prize – Barry Man-Kei Lee

2010, Townsville, Australia
Graham Sattler

2008, Melbourne, Australia
Geoffrey Lowe

2006, Melbourne, Australia
Clare Hall

2004, Gold Coast, Australia
Clare Hall

2002, Adelaide, Australia
Ryan Daniel and Brad Merrick

2001, Newcastle, Australia
Sheau-Fang Low